Do you want to know what nice things to say to your ex to get him back? Here are a few suggestions: “You’re the first person I think about when I wake up and before I go to bed.” Or, “I regret breaking up with you; you’re the best boyfriend I ever had.” Perhaps you could say something like, “I’m so sorry for taking you for granted; I didn’t realize how good I had it.” Saying things like this to your partner is almost guaranteed to get him back because they will trigger an emotional reaction, and that’s exactly what you want. Whether you dumped him or he dumped you, getting your partner back isn’t going to be an easy task, and you’ll need to put in some work. However, it’s important to understand that you can’t be too overbearing, or you’ll push him away. Drop him a text every so often, give him something to think about, and then retreat. Keep reading if you want to know what to say to your ex to get him back. 

How To Tell Your Ex You Still Love Him 

Telling your ex you still love him is a big step; you’re putting yourself in a vulnerable position and opening yourself up for rejection. The first question you should ask yourself is, are you emotionally stable enough to handle his rejection? If you think you are, then go ahead. But you’ll need to plan what you’re going to say. Reading Suggestion: Why Is My Ex posting So Much on Social Media? I’m all for speaking from the heart; nevertheless, you don’t want to start waffling, this might be the only chance you get to express how you feel, and it’s important that you’re clear and concise and don’t come across as an emotional wreck. 

How to Make Your Ex Feel Special

You want your ex-boyfriend to know you’ve thought about this seriously, and you don’t just want him back because you’re lonely. If you’re asking yourself, what should I say to my ex? Or how do I make my ex feel special? Start by writing down ten reasons why you love your ex. And then write out why you need to tell him you still love him. Finally, write out why you want to get back together. Practice what you’re going to say, and once you feel ready, get in contact and arrange a meeting with him.  Reading Suggestion: Why Did He Stop Talking To Me? 22 Reasons Why!

40 Nice Things To Say To Your Ex To Get Him Back

Saying the right things to your ex will get him back for sure. You can say something like, “You’re the first person I think about when I wake up and before I go to bed,” or “I regret breaking up with you; you’re the best boyfriend I ever had.” Or, “I’m so sorry for taking you for granted; I didn’t realize how good I had it.” The forty statements you’re about to read work like magic. I’m not saying you’ll get him back overnight, but he will start thinking about you, and you’ll make him feel so special that eventually, he’ll want to give the relationship another chance. Reading Suggestion: My Girlfriend Gets Mad At Me For the Smallest Things If you want to know what to say to your ex to get him back, here are forty suggestions:

#1 You’re the first person I think about when I wake up and before I go to bed.

If you’re asking yourself the question, how can I impress my ex over text? This is the perfect statement. Send it to him first thing in the morning, or the last thing at night. Not only will it get him thinking about you too, but with a message like this, you are letting your ex know there is no room in your head for anyone else. 

#2 I regret breaking up with you; you’re the best boyfriend I ever had. 

Give him an ego boost and make him feel more confident. Hopefully, it will lead to a conversation because he’ll want to know why you left him if you thought he was so great.  Reading Suggestion: 10 Clear Signs a Guy Doesn’t Know What He Wants

#3 I’m so sorry for taking you for granted; I didn’t realize how good I had it. 

If he felt as if you were taking him for granted in the relationship, he’ll appreciate that you’ve acknowledged it too. 

#4 No matter who I’m with, I’ll never stop loving you.

This is another way of saying that he was the best boyfriend you’ve ever had. No matter how hurt he feels, deep down, he’ll be happy to hear this. Reading Suggestion: 50 Interesting Things To Talk About With a Guy

#5 I’ll never find anyone who will love me the way you did. 

Your ex will find it comforting that you truly felt the love he gave you, even if you didn’t appreciate it at the time. 

#6 I am finding it very difficult to live without you. 

With this statement, you’re letting him know he had a serious impact on your life, and now he’s not in it, you can feel the difference. 

#7 You are the kindest person I’ve ever met. 

Kindness is a rare and beautiful quality to have. He’ll be happy to hear this. 

#8 I’ll do whatever is necessary to fix what I’ve broken. 

Since the breakup was most likely your fault, you’re acknowledging this and letting him know that there was nothing wrong with the way he treated you. You are the one who needs to put the effort in to fix the relationship if you were ever to get back together. 

#9 I’m so sorry for all the hurt I’ve put you through.

If you’ve been asking yourself the question, what can I say to get my ex back? An apology is like gold! A lot of people hold grudges because the person who hurt them refuses to admit any wrongdoing. Saying sorry says a lot about your level of self-awareness, and it shows that you are capable of looking within and examining your heart.  

#10 I’m willing to give you as much space as you need to decide what you want to do. 

Men need space to process their emotions; they don’t like being bombarded with questions about making emotional decisions. Letting him know that you’re willing to give him space will take the pressure off and allow him the freedom to think about things. 

#11 We had the best sex ever!

The easiest way to boost a man’s ego is to tell them they’re good in bed. Their sexual performance is connected to their identity and self-esteem, and they want to be with a woman who will make them feel like superman.  Reading Suggestion: How To Be High Value When He Pulls Away?

#12 I don’t blame you for not giving me another chance. But can you please find it in your heart to forgive me?

Forgiveness is essential if you’re going to move forward in a relationship. As much as you want to get back together with your ex boyfriend, you can’t be with someone who’s not willing to forgive. A part of the forgiveness process is agreeing not to take revenge, leave the past behind, and move forward. With this statement, you’re asking if he can do this. If not, then you can’t get back together. 

#13 It would make me so happy if we could just start the relationship where we left off. 

You could say something like this if you broke up for no other reason than getting cold feet. Some people walk out of relationships because they’re self-sabotaging. Since they’re used to being in bad relationships, when they get into a good one, they subconsciously behave in a way that will make the other person leave, or they’ll find an excuse to leave.  Reading Suggestion: Should I text my Ex Happy Birthday?

#14 I made a terrible mistake; they don’t make men like you anymore. 

Whether your ex boyfriend accepts this or not, it’s important to acknowledge your mistakes. Additionally, you’re letting him know he’s a rare breed, and you appreciate him for who he is. 

#15 Even if we don’t get back together, I feel privileged to have had you in my life. 

With this statement, you’re letting him know that you want to get back together, but you’re not putting any pressure on him. You are also telling him that you are grateful for the time you did spend together. 

#16 I have so many amazing memories of us together; I never want to forget you. 

Good memories are important, and you’re letting him know that he’s given you plenty to carry for the rest of your life. 

#17 I’ve made a lot of changes in my life, and I’m hoping you haven’t moved on and we can get back together now.

You could say this to your ex boyfriend if you told him you were breaking up with him because you had some things to sort out in your life, and being in a relationship was too stressful. But he wasn’t happy with your decision and wanted to help you work through them. It’s also important to mention that he might be cautious about getting back together with you because he’ll be worried that you’ll break up with him every time you’ve got something going on in your life.  Reading Suggestion: 160 Good Morning Messages To Make Him Smile

#18 You were right about me needing to change my attitude. I’m trying my hardest to do that now. 

Did your boyfriend dump you because you were too difficult to deal with? Were you the argumentative type of girlfriend who always had to be in the right? By acknowledging that he was right about your attitude and you’re trying your best to change it, he may be willing to take you back.

#19 I feel like we’ve both got so much more to give. 

Some relationships end because both parties got to a point where they didn’t have the energy to work at it anymore. But at a later date, one of them decides that the relationship shouldn’t have ended just yet. If this is your situation, this is the perfect conversation starter. 

#20 You’re such an amazing person; I really messed up; I wish I could turn back the hands of time and do things differently. 

This is another loaded statement that acknowledges how awesome your ex boyfriend is and lets him know that you want to get back together without saying it directly. 

#21 I always think about you when I hear our favorite song. 

Certain songs evoke emotions; your ex boyfriend is familiar with these emotions because he feels them too when he hears the song. Hopefully, saying this will make him start thinking about you again in a romantic way. 

#22 I miss you picking me up from work on Fridays. 

You are letting your ex boyfriend know that he hasn’t been replaced and that you would love for him to start picking you up from work again. 

#23 You’re such a decent human; people like you don’t exist anymore. 

Acknowledging how awesome he is, and there are not many people in the world like him, is always a good way to get your foot in the door.  Reading Suggestion: 31 Signs Your Ex Will Eventually Come Back

#24 What would it take for us to get back together?

Instead of playing guessing games, you want to know exactly what it would take to get back together with your ex-partner. If he responds, for one, you know there’s a chance of you getting back together, and two, you know what you need to do to ensure you get back together. 

#25 I can’t imagine being with anyone else. 

With this statement, you’re letting him know that he was the best match for you, and no one can take his place. 

#26 I will always compare my partners to you.

Your ex boyfriend was so good to you that you won’t settle for anything less. 

#27 You’ve set the standard for the type of man I want to be in the future. 

With this statement, you’re singing his praises without being direct. 

#28 You’d make such a good father; I can’t imagine having kids with anyone else. 

It’s important to be selective about the father of your children. By saying you don’t think you can imagine having kids with anyone else, you’re saying you believe there’s no one else who’d be a better father. 

#29 I’m sorry for how the relationship ended; it should never have happened like that. 

If you dumped your ex boyfriend in a rage and said some terrible things on the way out, this is the perfect statement to acknowledge your wrongdoing. He probably has some raw emotions about what happened on that day, so don’t force the conversation. Reading Suggestion: Why Do Men Get Jealous When You Are Dating Them? If he has something to say, listen. If he asks any questions, answer them, but let him take the wheel. 

#30 I’m finding it really difficult being without you. 

He might gloat at this one because you dumped him. Admitting you’re suffering because you’re not together says a lot about how you feel about him. It also lets him know he was good for you, that he made you a better person when you were together. 

#31 If you took me back, I would never take you for granted again. 

One of the easiest things to do in a relationship is to take your partner for granted. You appreciate their kindness initially, and then their kindness becomes common. You get used to that type of treatment, and you no longer feel the need to express gratitude for the things they do for you. Eventually, your partner will start feeling like you’re taking him for granted because everyone wants to feel appreciated in a relationship. With this statement, you’re giving him a guarantee that you’ll cherish him the way he deserves to be cherished.  Reading Suggestion: 24 Signs Your Ex is Trying to Get Your Attention on Social Media

#32 I can’t look at anything in this apartment without thinking about you. 

You’re letting your ex-partner know that he meant so much to you, that he’s on your mind all the time, and everything you’re surrounded by reminds you of him.  

#33 I regret the day I broke up with you.

Regret is a big word; by making a statement like this, you’re letting him know you acknowledge you made a mistake that you’re going to regret for many years to come. 

#34 Do you have any good memories of me?

Unless you were a complete tyrant, he’d have some good memories of you. Remembering the good times might convince him to give the relationship another try. 

#35 I’ll keep you as a special treasure in my heart for the rest of my life. 

With this statement, you’re letting him know that even if you don’t get back together, he’ll always be important to you. 

#36 I’m truly sorry for all the bad things I did to you while we were together. 

Were you the aggressor in the relationship? Did you say some unkind words or embarrass him in front of his friends? Giving your ex-boyfriend or girlfriend a heartfelt apology for all the things you did wrong in the relationship will hopefully get him to consider getting back together with you. 

#37 The only reason I left was that I was falling too deeply for you, and it scared me.

Perhaps you broke up with him in haste and didn’t give a reasonable explanation as to why. This isn’t really the best excuse to break up with someone, but hopefully, he’ll understand.   Reading Suggestion: 13 Thoughts He Thinks When You Don’t Text Him Back

#38 What do you think about us getting back together in the future?

He’s either going to love the idea or hate the idea. But either way, you’ll know whether there’s any chance of you getting back together. 

#39 Can you see a future for us? 

By asking him a direct question, you can expect a direct answer. He’s either going to say “yes” or “no.” When he does respond, you can take the conversation further by asking him why. 

#40 I would hate it if you met anyone else. 

There is nothing worse than an ex-partner moving on with another woman. Let him know that it would break your heart if he did this. 

What If He Stopped Loving You And Moved On? (How To Move On Yourself)

As painful as it is, sometimes you’ve got to accept that you’ll never get back together with your ex boyfriend and move on. You can do this by spending time alone, treating yourself, and working on your goals. Your ex-boyfriend may have stopped loving you if you cheated on him or disrespected him too many times in the relationship. Everyone has a breaking point, and if he’s reached his, there’s not much you can do about it apart from move on. Here are some tips to help you do this: Reading Suggestion: Don’t Text Him and He Will Text You

Spend Time Alone

A lot of people jump straight into another relationship after a breakup. Finding yourself a rebound boyfriend isn’t a good idea because you’ll carry all your hurt and baggage into your new relationship and dump it on your new partner. Instead of going for a night out on the town with your girlfriends looking for a bandaid to dress up your wounds, spend some time alone and heal. 

Treat Yourself

What do you enjoy doing that you haven’t done in a long time? Do you like traveling, going to spas or hiking? Whatever it is, treat yourself kindly and go and do it. It will take your mind off the breakup and make you feel a lot better about yourself. 

Work on Your Goals

Some women invest so much time and energy in their relationships they forget about themselves. Are you guilty of this? If so, pull out those dreams and goals again, brush the dust off, and start working on them. Working on your goals will give you a sense of fulfillment and help you heal. 

Final Thoughts

You now have forty nice things to say to your ex to get him back. Depending on the reason for the breakup, getting your ex-boyfriend back will take some effort on your part. Remember, don’t put too much pressure on him; you’re likely to cause more harm than good if you do it that way. Nevertheless, by sending him sweet texts and speaking kindly to him over the phone, you’ll eventually win him over. Reading Suggestion: 245 Sexual Questions to Ask Your Boyfriend

40 Nice things to say to your ex To Get Him Back - 3640 Nice things to say to your ex To Get Him Back - 2340 Nice things to say to your ex To Get Him Back - 48